Home?

They say that home isn’t a place. But what do “they” know?

A lot actually.

Home is more than a place, even more than the people you’re surrounded by—I argue that home is a feeling. It’s an emotion, a set of circumstances, a level of self-awareness that leads to contentment. Peace. Comfort.

And so I can say without a doubt that while I am really without a physical place to call home (unless I count the place where I was born and raised and where I am always welcome with open arms), I am always at home. I am comfortable in my own skin, at peace with where my life is headed, and secure in my lingering insecurities. And where am I headed now? What road am I traipsing merrily down, with no end in sight of my foreseeable future? And how can I be so satisfied to be so out of control? If you knew the me that used to dwell in this skin, you would quickly realize my outlook on life has changed so much this past year. But more on that in a minute… First things first, what in the world am I doing with my life?

A Time of Growth: the farm

Some people would call me crazy.

Have called me crazy actually… But I didn’t let that stop me. I have decided to take the risk,  to love my life, to trust that every little thing is going to be all right. And so I am moving into the house of a stranger. Why? You might ask. Well…

It’s the most economical way to travel the world. Isn’t that reason enough?

What will I be doing?

“Farm chores”… it’s a broad description and all I have to go on, but given what I’ve researched and seen on our visit it will probably look something like this:

Early morning I’ll get up to have some time to myself before the day starts. I’ll stretch, eat a light breakfast— regular morning routine, ya know?

The staff meeting is at 8:30. We’ll discuss work projects for the day and that sort of thing. I could be weeding, harvesting, taking care of “the girls” (I laugh every time. That would be their alpacas. Soft. Balls. Of. Fluff. Shy, but so cute, can I just say?) Anyhow, after the meeting is over, work begins!

Only a five hour day with a break for a family meal at lunch and the rest of the evening is yours to do with as you please. Obviously, I’ll be writing. Is that cheering I hear?

I’ll have each weekend off as well, so my plan is to travel around nearby areas and visit my grandmother.

Either when I have more details or at the end of my experience, I’ll write an update post.

Until then, go live your life! Don’t just exist, that’s no fun.

“Life is waking up an hour earlier to live an hour more.”

 

 

One thought on “Home: The Skin You’re In

Leave a Reply

